PM names new cabinet members
By Wire Services
April 20, 2018

In an extraordinary meeting on Thursday, the Ethiopian parliament approved the appointment of 16 members of a new cabinet being formed by Prime Minister Dr. Abiy Ahmed who has sent a strong warning that corruption will not be tolerated in his administration. Announcing members of his new cabinet, Ahmed urged the new leadership to primarily tackle corruption which he warned was gnawing away at the country’s resources.

Prime Minister Abiy Ahmed Thursday appointed a new Defence minister, attorney-general and Speaker of Parliament.

Mr Abiy’s new 16-member cabinet is seen as a bold move in taking power from the hands of the hardliners in Ethiopia’s ruling coalition.

The members of the team include Defence minister Motuma Mekassa, Attorney-General Brehanu Tsegaye and Speaker of the House Muferiyat Kamil.

More than half of the ministers are new to the cabinet as a reshuffle was made on important positions.

Hence Motuma Mekassa has been appointed Defense minister, replacing Siraj Fegessa who was named Transport minister.

Shiferaw Shigute is the new Minister of Agriculture and Livestock while Dr Ambachew Mekonnen has been appointed as Minister of Industry.

Ahmed Shide is Minister of Government Communications Affairs Office.

Dr Abiy did not clarify why the ex-ministers under his predecessor were axed despite a request to do so by MPs.

Also appointed were Mr Ubah Mohammed of Communications and Technology and Dr Ambachew Mekonnen of Industry.

The prime minister warned the new cabinet members to desist from unnecessary meetings, favouritism and any excuses that would make them fail to serve the people equally, fairly and efficiently. - An African-American news and views website.
Copyright 2016